Skip to content

A backpack full of shoes

May 29, 2009

Testing, testing . . . and we’re live.

After spending an afternoon talking about our purpose for this blog, here is the product. You can read more about our purpose for traveling to Bonn and the thoughts behind the blog name at the “Our Purpose” page, but I will give a short summary.

We are going to a United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change in Bonn, Germany. We’ll be staying from May 31st-June 12th, but will continue blogging after we return to the U.S.  because Bonn is a precursor to the Copenhagen conference in December. At Copenhagen, a framework for mitigating climate change after 2012 (post-Kyoto Protocol) will be agreed upon. We want to learn about the exhaustive process of making an international agreement on climate change.So that’s where we’re at. And if you’re not crazy about the name “The Copenhagen Questions,” then you should have heard some of our earlier ideas. Some of the ones that were considered much too seriously: Climate Sandwich (weird), Bonnfire (sounds destructive), Copenhagen Cupcakes(too cute ), 2Travelers (not descriptive enough), Bonn Voyage (already taken), and Chasing Copenhagen (my favorite  until my dad reminded me that Copenhagen was not a dog).

However, we’re not in Germany yet. And I’ve never been out of the country (if you exclude going to see “The Sound of Music” with my family in Canada). So it should be an adventure. Today I woke up early to the sound of my dog Sammy barking, and drove five and a half hours to Wheaton, Illinois to stay with my friend and fraternity brother Matt Brauer. I had the pleasure of experiencing toll roads and construction on I-294 for the first time. Taylor will arrive at a Megabus station tonight at 10, and we’ll fly out from O’Hare tomorrow at 4. Until then, Matt and I are going to continue hanging out in a local coffee shop, “La Spiaza,” and I will see if I can ditch any clothing from my jam packed suitcase so I don’t have to carry my shoes around in my backpack. Already getting kind of heavy.

Photo 113

-Anthony

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Alaina permalink
    May 30, 2009 4:36 pm

    Viel Spaß! Bitte Deutsch lernen! Ich werde Sie in regelmäßigen Abständen, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie beide noch am Leben!

    • abaratta permalink
      June 2, 2009 9:29 pm

      haha thanks alaina. we’ve been trying to learn german unsuccessfully.

  2. the artist formerly known as "mad dog" permalink*
    May 31, 2009 6:39 pm

    Chase the hell out of it! I’ll be an avid follower.

    I’m seeing an apt climate metaphor buried in the name:

    Copin’, Hoggin’

    People think we’re coping, but really we’re hogging. And we’re screwed?

    Andrew

  3. Christine Walker permalink
    May 31, 2009 9:51 pm

    Have a great trip! They aren’t ready for you guys over there!

  4. May 31, 2009 10:47 pm

    I hope you had a good flight. Be sure to include your struggle with jet lag in the next entry. I’ll be avidly following. In between the meals and in the evenings (that’s for you mad dog). Can’t wait to hear about your adventures and then see you on the 17th. I’ll have a sign. Peace.

  5. Ross permalink
    June 1, 2009 6:26 pm

    Hey guys,

    Over the next week I’ll be following the Bonn Conference via late night webcasts from the comfort of my leather couch. (not nearly as exciting as what you guys are doing) Thanks for putting up your blog. I bet it is tough for you guys to following the long winded ambiguous speeches while suffering from jet lag ;).

    • abaratta permalink
      June 2, 2009 9:26 pm

      Hey Ross thanks for the nice comment. Yes we are tired but getting used to it. Taylor keeps counting how many times I fall asleep during the sessions. I talked to a guy from Italy tonight and asked him about the rivalry between Sicily and Italy but he said it wasn’t too bad.

  6. June 6, 2009 8:33 am

    thanks for sharing the process of getting a name for your blog with us 🙂 i definitely keep on reading…

    see you later @ the areal pic!

    marika

Leave a Reply

